Nyanya blast: Traffic forces residents to stay indoors

ABUJA— Six days after the bomb blast that rocked Nyanya, Abuja, residents have kept off bus stops  to avert being caught in traffic.
The traffic is the fallout of the checkpoints mounted by security agencies in the aftermath of the attacks.
Findings by our reporter, Monday, indicated that residents of Masaka, Karu, Nyanya and Mararaba, which share common boundaries with the bus terminal bombed by the sect in the first attack three weeks ago, now preferred to stay indoors to avert being caught in the web of another attack.
Investigation also showed that many civil servants and students were absent at their duty posts as those who did never got to their offices until eight hours after.
One of the workers, who identified herself as Mrs Victoria Johnson, told Vanguard that the traffic situation in the area was becoming unbearable.
She said: ”I came out for the first time at about 7:30 am thinking the traffic will be better, what I saw made me to go back home. I then came out from my house again by 11:30am, the hold-up was even worse.”
“As you can see, I and my children are going back to the house because I cannot take them to school neither will I go to work. I just pray that government will do something fast to help those living around these areas.”

Leave a Reply

